State of Education

Standard

The last 3 day have left me totally gobsmacked in seeing the vast numbers of students trying to access further education.

For those who dont know me I am a qualified educator who has taught in both SA and the UK. On returning to SA in 2010 I filled various posts in schools and now am lecturing in the Fet SECTOR.Monday was offically the day the college I work at opened and registration commenced. While driving into work at 7:10am I was shocked by the long winding lines of students gathering to register.

My job for the last 2 days was to man an information desk and help in screening and advising students about their options. By midday on Monday so many students had to be turned away as the lines were never ending. It was heartbreaking for me to see how desperate these learners were to register and gain some qualification. Those with a Matric pass were advised to return today to register.

This morning I arrived at work at 6:55 to be greeted by 3 lines of students on either side of the road for over 2km.Staff had to be guided into the premises. It was a bit scary I must admit.I later found out that 50 students had arrived the night before at 5pm and slept on the premises to ensure a place.

We only had place for 400 students max but the numbers were over 3000.It became a stampede in some venues were registration had to be stopped as students pushed in to register. The desperation of these students really touched me as to how much they value education and improving their future.

The goverment needs to step in now and build more facilities to accomodate these learners who are thirsty for education, we need trained educators, more resources.The only way we as a country can progress is by educating our youth , giving them skills so they are better equipped to deal with life.
I then with fellow lecturers recalled the days of our registration and how it was never like this so many people.I am truely grateful to my parents for giving me an education.

So please goverment ministers heed the call of the next generation and educators provide us with more institutes of further learning with resources . Thus making education and skills further accessible to all those who wish to further their education…….

One response »

Leave a Reply

