Arranged…

Standard

In keeping with the theme of Love Month and all my personal dramas that went down , I decided to explore a different train of thought. After re reading my favourite book I thought “arranged marriages”.

download

Instantly I know you are cringing reading this BUT, stop and listen to what I am getting at. Traditionally in many Eastern cultures and religions, arranged marriages are the norm where the bride and the groom literally meet on the day of their wedding . These matches were made by parents and astrologers. Most of these marriages do actually work as a suitable spouse is found for you according to your background – but not always. Love marriages on the other hand.. well, they too go 50/50 in terms of working.

Mum always says “What happens when love flies out the back door ?”.

So all this got me thinking, here’s me, 30-something , returned from London 4 years ago, don’t have a big social circle and not into clubbing. I work odd hours – 12 midday to 7pm and work in an environment that doesn’t allow me to meet anyone suitable. Everyone I know is married, taken or gay lol. So how does a single girl meet a decent single guy??? Yes I have tried online dating. It’s rather scary with plenty perverts with fake profiles.

Then I thought why not consider arranged marriage with a modern twist.. Who knows us better than anyone else??? Our friends and family – they know our likes, dislikes and  our dreams so why not ask them to be matchmakers? They would suggest potential suitors for you to meet for coffee and prior to this would be calls and emails and then its up to the couple to pursue this match or not.

So no its not arranged marriage but arranged dating. I am rather open to this option 🙂

Anyone out there will to take on this challenge and help me in my quest ?

Ciao

Leave a Reply

